Drawing? What’s that?

Wow it’s been long since I’ve posted anything.  I guess that’s what happens when you start a full time job that happens to be overnights and you’ve spent the past few months adjusting to having almost no social life and having to sleep while the sun is up…

Anyways, I’m jumping back in and hoping to keep it up since I’ve now had plenty of time to adjust to my new schedule.  I decided to best place to start up again would be by drawing.  I recently received two wonderful books as gifts from my amazing fiancee.  Figure Drawing for All it’s Worth and Drawing the Head & Hands both by Andrew Loomis.  I decided to start with the head and hands so that when I moved onto the figure the head and hands would not be as intimidating.  I’m not that far in, but I have created some useful tools to help me understand the physical structure of the head (and they’re pretty funny looking, too!).

Here’s a photo of Drawing the Head & Hands and the two new drawing tools I’ve made:

The yellow hand ball is thoroughly marked with standard locations of facial features based on information I read in Drawing the Head & Hands.  An additional piece of advice from Loomis was to slice open a hand ball to better understand the mouth and eyelids (I gave mine eyes!).

I’ve found the book extremely helpful and I need to find more time to spend with it.  For now I’ll leave you with the best line I read so far, “be able to draw the unseen ear.”

About allysonmakessomething

"Successful creative energy involves the harnessing of controlled madness. I am convinced of this." - Eramus, Dune: Battle of Corrin, Kevin J. Anderson & Brian Herbert

Posted on February 13, 2012, in Current Project, Drawings/Sketches, Research and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

